Literature

Novelist Diane Thomas to speak

Novelist Diane Thomas returns to speak to Friends of the Pickens Library on Thursday, Nov. 21, with a new book deal in her pocket.

Thomas’s In Wilderness, set in the rural Southern Appalachians, will be published by Random House in early 2015. Having this novel picked up by a major publisher is quite a coup for Thomas, a writer who recently relocated to Santa Fe.

Thomas is known to many in our area as a former Bent Tree resident and the author of The Year the Music Changed, her first novel, which was published by The Toby Press in 2005 and has been translated into Italian and Japanese.

A life-long resident of Atlanta and North Georgia, Thomas worked as a film and theater critic and entertainment editor for The Atlanta Constitution and as a feature writer for Atlanta magazine in addition to freelance writing and editing.

Her website gives this description of her coming novel: “It’s early 1967 and Katherine, a 38-year-old professional woman afflicted by a mysterious wasting illness, has come to a remote Appalachian forest to die. Danny, a former Vietnam sniper, has come there so he will not kill again. Inspired by historic Appalachian folk ballads of obsessive love and violence, In Wilderness tells the story of two damaged and isolated souls who have lost everything that matters and who come together out of an overarching need for love.”

The Friends of the Pickens Library invite everyone to join us in welcoming back Diane Thomas as she speaks and presents readings from her two novels on Nov.21, 7 pm, at the library in Jasper.

Friends of Pickens County Library Meet Thursday

Friends of the Pickens County Library will meet Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 7:00pm for the opening of the 2012 program season.  The speaker of the evening will be Neal Whitten, author of The Gift of Wisdom: Lessons for a Lifetime. This warm, readable, and inspiring book for all ages imparts the treasured wisdom of our elders. This non-fiction work is drawn from interviews with 25 older Americans who represent various ethnic, economic, religious and social groups.

Friends of the Pickens County Library is a private, non-profit organization, dedicated to enhancing the Pickens County Library.  In addition to financially supporting the library, the Friends presents programs of interest to the community about eight times a year.

Meetings are held at the Pickens County Library, 100 Library Lane, Jasper, Georgia.  For more information please contact the Pickens County Library at 706-692-5411.

Loving Storytime

Children of all ages are invited to Pickens County Public Library’s special Valentine’s Day story time on February 14th, 2012 at 3pm. Children will hear lovey-dovey stories and make a sweet craft for someone special. 

  

For more information please contact the Pickens County Library at 706-692-5411.

Murder Mystery!

Who Did It My Way? or The Murderous Fans of Old Blue Eyes and The King of Rock and Roll

On Thursday, February 9th, at 6pm, the Pickens County Library will celebrate My Way Day with a tribute to Old Blue Eyes, Frank Sinatra, and The King of Rock and Roll, Elvis Presley. It will be an evening of music and laughter during the Murder Mystery Reader’s Theatre Adult Program. The main characters will sing excerpts from songs of both musicians, and audience members are welcome to join in—regardless of whether or not they have a speaking part. Costumes and singing along are welcome but not required!

For more information or to register, please contact the Pickens County Library at 706-692-5411.

Magick to do

Suffering from  a sad case of the mid-winter doldrums? Let poetry put a surge back in your urge.

The  Georgia  Poetical Coopera­tive  is  staging  a  beguiling evening of alchemical poems and songs entitled It’s Magick! It will perform the show Tuesday evening, Jan. 17, starting at 7:30 pm.

The presentation will unfold at Appalachia restaurant on Steve Tate Highway just outside Big Canoe’s North Gate. There is no charge for admission, but come at 6:30 for dinner or drinks!

The inspiration for the show is the famous poem “My  Heart Leaps Up” written  by William Wordsworth  200  years  ago. Other poets who will be featured in the show range from Emily Dickinson, Edwin  Markham, T.S. Eliot, and William Butler Yeats to John Keats, Samuel Tay­lor Coleridge, Walter de Ia Mare and Alfred Lord Tennyson.

Contact Carl Japikse at 706-579-1274 or e-mail  him at carl@lightariel.com to reserve a seat.

Happy Hour at VanGoghs Hideaway

The Oral Art of Storytelling

“We have a profound need to tell and hear stories. It is how we share experience, understand each other.  Every conversation is full of personal anecdote; every effort to explain shared customs and values needs a tale; every bit of wisdom is best expressed by a story. The very way our minds think is the essence of story. So to master powerful and effective communication, to engage people and ensure they remember facts, or to break down barriers of isolation within or between groups, telling stories in some form is essential.” – Tim Sheppard

If you missed storytelling hour at Van Gogh’s this past Tuesday, you missed a lot of laughter.  Both men & women attended and are invited to join in Tuesday evening for “Happy Hour” as you will be entertained by Jan Williams and her Friend Regina, both professional story tellers.  That is Tuesday Evening, Oct. 25th at 5:30….Storytelling will begin at 6pm.  VanGoghs will have pre-dinner h’orderves.

Subscribe to us!

Enter your email address to get messages about new posts:

Our support is from
NEA
Jasper: Recent photos

Roy Tanck's Flickr Widget requires Flash Player 9 or better.

Photos from Flickr.com